Ferndale School Board recognized as a ‘Board of Distinction’

ferndale school board 2018-19
Ferndale School Board Members (l-r) Noah Semu, Hugh Foulke, Lee Anne Riddle, Dr. Kevin Erickson, Candice Wilson, and Taylor Lupo pose for a picture at the 2018 WSSDA conference in Spokane (November 2018). Missing: Andrew McLaurin. Source: Ferndale School District

The Ferndale School Board was recently recognized by the Washington State School Directors’ Association (WSSDA) with a 2018 Board of Distinction (Medium District) award. This is the 6th time the board has received this recognition since 2012 according to a Ferndale School District press release.

South Bend, Chehalis and Northshore School Districts won Boards of the Year awards in the categories of small, medium and large school districts respectively.

To be considered for an award, boards submit two essays. One essay explains the board’s efforts to close the Opportunity Gap and a second that describes the application of one of the WSSDA Standards for school boards.

- Story continues after advertisement -

Current elected Ferndale School Board members are Hugh Foulke, Lee Anne Riddle, Dr. Kevin Erickson, Candice Wilson and Andrew McLaurin. Also included on the board are student members Noah Semu and Taylor Lupo.

34 boards applied for the 2018 recognition with 29 receiving an award according to a WSSDA press release. The only other Whatcom County recipient was the Bellingham School Board which was recognized as a Board of Distinction (Large District).


Want to add to the story or have an opinion to share with the community?
Click here to submit a Letter to the Editor.

Get free Ferndale area news delivered daily to your email.

* indicates required

Joe is the founder of My Ferndale News. As a Ferndale resident, he hopes to empower the community with free access to news that matters and makes a difference in the day-to-day challenges faced while we work and live in the Ferndale area.